Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Log In | Register

3 Pages 123>
Robi Arms. Options
Steve1701
#1 Posted : 06 May 2019 13:12:55

Rank: Pro


Groups: Registered

Joined: 02/10/2018
Posts: 177
Points: 530
Location: swindon
i have a problem here i cant work out, everthing works ok until i connect the legs, when i power it up then, head and waist move but not the arms, i have not plugged in the two leads and power from the legs, when i do the arms still do not move, when i remove the legs again and power up the arms move. any advice please.
arpurchase
#2 Posted : 06 May 2019 13:25:18

Rank: Super-Elite

Build-Diary Medal: Build-Diary Medal of HonourPublisher Medal: Article published MedalActive Service Medal: 500 post active service MedalPurple Medal: Super active service medal for 1000 postsRed Medal: Red MedalTurquoise Medal: Turquoise Medal for model making know-how contributionOutstanding Build: An award for an outstanding build
Groups: Registered, Moderator, Official Builds, Global Forum Support, Administrators

Joined: 27/09/2011
Posts: 14,698
Points: 44,620
Location: Dudley
Check that the connectors are fully inserted into the board. Take off the sponge pads when doing this and replace afterwards.
Current builds:-C57,Zero, Lamborghini Countach, Caldercraft HMS Agamemnon,Robi,R2-D2, MFH Cobra .

Steve1701
#3 Posted : 06 May 2019 13:28:02

Rank: Pro


Groups: Registered

Joined: 02/10/2018
Posts: 177
Points: 530
Location: swindon
arpurchase wrote:
Check that the connectors are fully inserted into the board. Take off the sponge pads when doing this and replace afterwards.


done that andy, even replaced the sponge connectors to be sure.
Steve1701
#4 Posted : 07 May 2019 11:17:40

Rank: Pro


Groups: Registered

Joined: 02/10/2018
Posts: 177
Points: 530
Location: swindon
could this be a problem with the main board...Confused
arpurchase
#5 Posted : 07 May 2019 11:43:54

Rank: Super-Elite

Build-Diary Medal: Build-Diary Medal of HonourPublisher Medal: Article published MedalActive Service Medal: 500 post active service MedalPurple Medal: Super active service medal for 1000 postsRed Medal: Red MedalTurquoise Medal: Turquoise Medal for model making know-how contributionOutstanding Build: An award for an outstanding build
Groups: Registered, Moderator, Official Builds, Global Forum Support, Administrators

Joined: 27/09/2011
Posts: 14,698
Points: 44,620
Location: Dudley
Make sure the plugs are fully inserted into the correct sockets and all other conections are sound. I had a simular problem and found that left and right plugs had got mixed up.
Current builds:-C57,Zero, Lamborghini Countach, Caldercraft HMS Agamemnon,Robi,R2-D2, MFH Cobra .

Steve1701
#6 Posted : 07 May 2019 11:47:23

Rank: Pro


Groups: Registered

Joined: 02/10/2018
Posts: 177
Points: 530
Location: swindon
i did notice if i turned the plug by the leg end and swap it with the one next two it the left arm moved but not the right. as i said talk the legs off it works, connect the legs the arms dont move.
darbyvet
#7 Posted : 07 May 2019 14:54:26

Rank: Super-Elite
Build-Diary Medal: Build-Diary Medal of HonourPublisher Medal: Article published MedalActive Service Medal: 500 post active service MedalPurple Medal: Super active service medal for 1000 postsRed Medal: Red Medal
Groups: Moderator, Tech Support, Technical Support, Registered, Forum Support Team, Forum Support USA, Global Forum Support, Global Forum Support Team

Joined: 17/12/2013
Posts: 3,334
Points: 10,029
Location: NY, USA
I wonder if the problem may be your battery.If it is not fully charged you can get weird things happening.

Carl

Steve1701
#8 Posted : 07 May 2019 14:55:59

Rank: Pro


Groups: Registered

Joined: 02/10/2018
Posts: 177
Points: 530
Location: swindon
darbyvet wrote:
I wonder if the problem may be your battery.If it is not fully charged you can get weird things happening.

Carl



it is fully charged carl, thanks for the reply.
darbyvet
#9 Posted : 07 May 2019 16:11:44

Rank: Super-Elite
Build-Diary Medal: Build-Diary Medal of HonourPublisher Medal: Article published MedalActive Service Medal: 500 post active service MedalPurple Medal: Super active service medal for 1000 postsRed Medal: Red Medal
Groups: Moderator, Tech Support, Technical Support, Registered, Forum Support Team, Forum Support USA, Global Forum Support, Global Forum Support Team

Joined: 17/12/2013
Posts: 3,334
Points: 10,029
Location: NY, USA
Steve1701 wrote:
darbyvet wrote:
I wonder if the problem may be your battery.If it is not fully charged you can get weird things happening.

Carl



it is fully charged carl, thanks for the reply.



There was an issue with some batteries that came with Robi.They appeared to charge, but they would not hold a full charge and you could get weird things happening with Robi.It happened to me.A replacement battery solved the issue for me.

Carl

Steve1701
#10 Posted : 07 May 2019 17:38:55

Rank: Pro


Groups: Registered

Joined: 02/10/2018
Posts: 177
Points: 530
Location: swindon
darbyvet wrote:
Steve1701 wrote:
darbyvet wrote:
I wonder if the problem may be your battery.If it is not fully charged you can get weird things happening.

Carl



it is fully charged carl, thanks for the reply.



There was an issue with some batteries that came with Robi.They appeared to charge, but they would not hold a full charge and you could get weird things happening with Robi.It happened to me.A replacement battery solved the issue for me.

Carl



i will check the voltage carl and let you know. thanks
Steve1701
#11 Posted : 07 May 2019 18:17:11

Rank: Pro


Groups: Registered

Joined: 02/10/2018
Posts: 177
Points: 530
Location: swindon
Steve1701 wrote:
darbyvet wrote:
Steve1701 wrote:
darbyvet wrote:
I wonder if the problem may be your battery.If it is not fully charged you can get weird things happening.

Carl



it is fully charged carl, thanks for the reply.



There was an issue with some batteries that came with Robi.They appeared to charge, but they would not hold a full charge and you could get weird things happening with Robi.It happened to me.A replacement battery solved the issue for me.

Carl



i will check the voltage carl and let you know. thanks



put it back on charge, light was on red, after about five minutes it went green, put the tester on and it read 8.2 volts, would you say thats ok.
darbyvet
#12 Posted : 07 May 2019 19:28:48

Rank: Super-Elite
Build-Diary Medal: Build-Diary Medal of HonourPublisher Medal: Article published MedalActive Service Medal: 500 post active service MedalPurple Medal: Super active service medal for 1000 postsRed Medal: Red Medal
Groups: Moderator, Tech Support, Technical Support, Registered, Forum Support Team, Forum Support USA, Global Forum Support, Global Forum Support Team

Joined: 17/12/2013
Posts: 3,334
Points: 10,029
Location: NY, USA
I dont remember the actual fully charged voltage, but that seems a bit low to me.Unfortunately you cant tell from the charger if the battery is no good or not.I would ask for a replacement battery.

Carl


Steve1701
#13 Posted : 07 May 2019 21:24:50

Rank: Pro


Groups: Registered

Joined: 02/10/2018
Posts: 177
Points: 530
Location: swindon
i have requested one battery carl, not sure how long it will take, been waiting for another part for two months now.
Steve1701
#14 Posted : 11 May 2019 09:32:53

Rank: Pro


Groups: Registered

Joined: 02/10/2018
Posts: 177
Points: 530
Location: swindon
just had a email to say the parts are out of stock and will send them when they arrive, still waiting for the previous part, over two months now.
Steve1701
#15 Posted : 23 June 2019 12:47:56

Rank: Pro


Groups: Registered

Joined: 02/10/2018
Posts: 177
Points: 530
Location: swindon
still waiting, sent another email and now waiting for a response.
Moderator
#16 Posted : 23 June 2019 17:03:18
Rank: Administration

Groups: Moderator

Joined: 27/03/2019
Posts: 53
Points: 149
Steve1701,

Can you shoot me a PM with the issue numbers? I’ll see if I can get you an ETA.
Steve1701
#17 Posted : 23 June 2019 17:13:51

Rank: Pro


Groups: Registered

Joined: 02/10/2018
Posts: 177
Points: 530
Location: swindon
Moderator wrote:
Steve1701,

Can you shoot me a PM with the issue numbers? I’ll see if I can get you an ETA.



PM sent.
Steve1701
#18 Posted : 30 June 2019 14:30:00

Rank: Pro


Groups: Registered

Joined: 02/10/2018
Posts: 177
Points: 530
Location: swindon
update:

received the battery yesterday show charged it up, connected it to robi, and it has made no difference, this has really baffled me, if i remove the legs it works, if i connect the legs with no wires connected to the board it still does not work. ?????????
delboy271155
#19 Posted : 30 June 2019 16:02:09

Rank: Super-Elite

Build-Diary Medal: Build-Diary Medal of HonourPublisher Medal: Article published MedalActive Service Medal: 500 post active service MedalPurple Medal: Super active service medal for 1000 postsRed Medal: Red MedalTurquoise Medal: Turquoise Medal for model making know-how contribution
Groups: Registered, Administrators, Global Forum Support Team, Moderator, Official Builds

Joined: 09/11/2012
Posts: 6,148
Points: 18,281
Location: East midlands
Steve1701 wrote:
update:

received the battery yesterday show charged it up, connected it to robi, and it has made no difference, this has really baffled me, if i remove the legs it works, if i connect the legs with no wires connected to the board it still does not work. ?????????


Hi Steve

In my distant past I was an electro/mechanical engineer building and maintaining the workings of telephone exchanges.

To breakdown what a fault could be we used to "Logic" fault.

Having read your issue and consulted the official build I applied said Logic and have this input to your problem.

As the arms stop working when all you do is the mechanical action of connecting the legs to the body, the mechanical work is causing an electrical problem.

Looking at the pictures in the official build, there is a view from behind Robi that shows a circuit board inside what would be his right hip. Now, two of the outer screws that hold his leg section to his body are very close to that board.

My thoughts are: that if you remove those two screws from his right side it may stop any distortion of the connections or the board and stop the issue.

Should that be the case, then check the connections to that board and the board itself, as if there is a crack in one of the electrical tracks on the board when everything is tightened up it may disconnect a circuit.

Hope this helps, but if not feel free to post again with the results.

Regards
Derek



COME BACK GUY FAWKES "YOUR COUNTRY NEEDS YOU"






Steve1701
#20 Posted : 30 June 2019 17:19:57

Rank: Pro


Groups: Registered

Joined: 02/10/2018
Posts: 177
Points: 530
Location: swindon
thanks for that derek.

i removed the screws from the motherboard and tried it and it was still the same, so i replaced the board with one that came with the battery and it is still the same. could it be the servo that the legs push in to, it does rotate but i cant think of anything else, there are no burn marks anywhere that i can see.
Users browsing this topic
Guest
3 Pages 123>
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF | YAF © 2003-2009, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.166 seconds.
DeAgostini